New York Car Insurance Basics
Choosing auto insurance that fits your needs and the needs of your family is important, so get to know the basics. Here you’ll find information about auto insurance and answers to some common questions. Let me explain in a few words what you need to know the basics about New York automobile insurance coverage choices. Take a look at the info below to keep in mind once you get our car insurance quote.
Basics about New York Automobile Insurance
All drivers must have current car insurance that meets the NY obligated insurance coverage requirements.
In case you are pulled over by the law enforcement officials for a traffic violation and also don’t have an up-to-date car insurance ID card, you will probably get a ticket.
There are many NY car insurance special discounts available out there that could help you save money on car insurance. When choosing an insurance, after getting quote on our website, make sure to ask about New York good driver discounts, good student discounts, and a discount for bundling car insurance and homeowners (or renters) insurance. You may as well save money by taking a state-approved Defensive Driving Course.
New York is a no-fault insurance state
No-fault automobile insurance is designed to help insured motorists and their passengers recover from the accident and get back to work in the shortest time regardless of who caused the accident. In New York, Personal Injury Protection is a required no-fault coverage. Personal Injury Protection will provide the following benefits if an insured is in an accident:
- Medical and rehabilitation costs
- A portion of your lost earnings from being unable to work for up to 36 months
- Death benefits
- Other household expenses
Car Insurance in New York – Minimum Coverage’s
Liability coverage in New York is a must have. In case your car is registered with the NY DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles), in that case your insurance must fulfill the New York liability coverage minimums. They are:
- Bodily Injury minimum – Minimum $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage minimum – Minimum $10,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury minimum – Minimum $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Basic Personal Injury Protection minimum – Minimum $50,000